Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations American Thoracic Society Awards

American Thoracic Society Awards

Roy Brower, professor in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical and Care Medicine, was recently awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Critical Care Assembly of the American Thoracic Society. This award signifies a career devoted to research and teaching of the science and practice of critical care medicine and outstanding service to the assembly on critical care.

Also acknowledged were Sarath Raju, senior resident, who was awarded a travel award, and Allison Lambert and Omar Mesarwi, fellows in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine who received awards for the best abstract in their respective assemblies out of more than 5,000 entries.

The Critical Care Assembly is the largest within the American Thoracic Society and consists of 6,230 members who aim to improve the care of critically ill patients through education, research and professional development. For more information, visit their website:


Kelsey Bennett