Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Research 2016 Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medical Science

2016 Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medical Science

The Taubman Prize is presented annually by the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan. It is meant to recognize work in the crucial field of translational research being conducted by the clinician-scientist who has done the most to transform laboratory discoveries into clinical applications for patients suffering from disease.

The award was established in 2011 to recognize clinician-scientists making significant progress toward translating basic research findings into medical practice. Besides the monetary award, each year’s recipient is asked to serve as the keynote speaker at the Taubman Institute’s annual symposium, being held on Oct. 21, 2016.

A panel of nationally prominent clinician-scientists will judge the competition, which is open to all clinician-scientists, regardless of country, except for U-M researchers.

The deadline for entries for next year’s award is Feb. 1, 2016. 

Contest rules and nomination form can be found at:

In June, Dr. Mahlon DeLong of the Emory University School of Medicine was awarded the fourth annual $100,000 Taubman Prize for his crucial contributions to the treatment of Parkinson’s disease.


Kelsey Bennett