Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations 10 Inducted into the Distinguished Teaching Society

10 Inducted into the Distinguished Teaching Society

Eleven members of our department were elected by the medical student body to be inducted into the Distinguished Teaching Society, a selective new teaching honor society affiliated with the JHUSOM medical student government, JHUSOM Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE) and the JHUSOM Vice Dean for Education that recognizes excellence in clinical medical student teaching at JHUSOM.

The society aims to recognize outstanding and passionate clinical faculty and residents across departments and resident/faculty levels to distinguish a symbol of devotion to teaching and ensure program longevity and prestige. The ceremony took place on Wednesday to honor the following members of the DOM:

  • Peter Abadir, assistant professor in the Division of Geriatrics
  • Chris Bailey, fellow
  • Michael Choi, associate professor in the Division of Nephrology
  • Thomas Finucane, professor in the Division of Geriatrics
  • Panagis Galiatsatos, fellow in the Division of Pulmonary
  • Ted James, fellow
  • Brian Lee, resident
  • Bruce Leff, professor in the Division of Geriatrics
  • Igor Makhlin, fellow (not pictured)
  • Nik Ray-Mazumdar, fellow

Kelsey Bennett