Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations 2016 Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams

2016 Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams

Last year, the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians launched the Johns Hopkins Medicine Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams to recognize physicians and care teams who provide consistently outstanding patient care throughout all of Johns Hopkins Medicine.

All Johns Hopkins Medicine hospitals and Johns Hopkins Community Physicians facilities selected their six winners after nomination and local committee review. This year’s winners were honored at the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians’ annual meeting on Dec. 6. 

To see all of the winners, visit

Below are the winners from the DOM:

Jeffrey TrostArmstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety

Dr. Trost’s research on troponin testing has led to it being ordered much less, saving the health system the cost of unnecessary tests and inspiring the Choosing Wisely campaign.

Leah WolfeExcellence in Service and Professionalism

Creative, flexible and passionately patient-centered, Dr. Wolfe is an outstanding clinician and diagnostician who is skilled at helping patients and their families navigate the health care system.

Alia DadabhaiBest Consulting Physician

Dr. Dadabhai is an inspiring physician with a passion for social justice. Her expertise in hepatology is matched only by her commitment to her patients.


Sarah Polk, Kathleen Page and the Centro SOL Team: Innovations in Clinical Care

Under the leadership of Drs. Polk and Page, Centro SOL was created to serve the health needs of Baltimore’s Latino population. Its mission is to promote equity in health and opportunity for Latinos, and its reach has been extensive.

Rosalyn Stewart, and the Johns Hopkins After-Care Clinic Team: Innovations in Clinical Care

Dr. Stewart and the Johns Hopkins After-Care Clinic team have had a marked impact on the rate of acute care utilization among adults who struggle to manage their health, leading to better outcomes and savings for the health system.

Nominations will open for the 2017 awards next spring.


Kelsey Bennett