Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations American Thoracic Society Awards

American Thoracic Society Awards

Three faculty members from the Division of Pulmonary will receive awards from the American Thoracic Society (ATS) next month.

Hank Fessler, professor, will receive the Outstanding Educator Award at the ATS Plenary Session. This award recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care or sleep medicine and award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease.

Kristin Riekert, associate professor, will receive the Behavioral Science and Health Services Lifetime Achievement Award at the Annual Behavioral Science and Health Services Membership Meeting at the ATS International Conference in Washington D.C. This award recognizes outstanding scientific contributions relevant to the behavioral or social sciences, clinical epidemiology, statistics, health services research, health economics, comparative clinical efficacy and effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, performance measurement, quality improvement or implementation science.

Robert Wise, professor, will receive the Clinical Problems Assembly Sreedhar Nair Lifetime Achievement Award in COPD in honor of his outstanding service to the behavioral or social aspects of the prevention and treatment of the emphysema and chronic obstructive lung disease. The award will be presented to him at the Annual Clinical Problems Assembly Membership Meeting at the ATS International Conference.


Kelsey Bennett