Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations 2017 Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams

2017 Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams

Now in their third year, the Johns Hopkins Medicine Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams aim to recognize physicians and care teams who provide consistently outstanding patient care throughout all of Johns Hopkins Medicine.

All Johns Hopkins Medicine hospitals and Johns Hopkins Community Physicians facilities selected their six winners after nomination and local committee review. This year’s winners were honored at the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians’ annual meeting on Nov. 7. 

To see all of the winners, visit

Below are the winners from the DOM:

Pamela Johnson, Lenny Feldman, Amit Pahwa and the High Value Care Committee: Innovations in Clinical Care

"Their work has focused on increasing value for patients by reducing unnecessary diagnostic testing. In two years, they have virtually eliminated inappropriate use of cardiac biomarkers and reduced inappropriate inpatient folate testing by 80 percent."

David Pearse and the STRIDE Program: Innovations in Clinical Care

"The STRIDE Program in the Medical Intensive Care Unit, led by Dr. Pearse, utilizes a multidisciplinary approach to optimize patient care and increase patient safety. An early mobility program, it decreased mortality and increased the percentage of patients discharged to home versus inpatient rehabilitation."

Mihail Zilbermint: Innovations in Clinical Care

"Dr. Zilbermint and his team introduced hospital wide glycemic guidelines and protocols, leading to lower lengths of stays for patients with diabetes, reducing readmissions for them by 15.5 percent and saving about $143,000 per month."

Michael StreiffArmstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety

"Recognized internationally for his work preventing and treating venous thromboembolism (VTE), Dr. Streiff developed specialty-specific “smart order sets” that have significantly increased the prescription of risk-appropriate VTE prophylaxis at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and reduced potentially preventable VTE episodes."

Eric HowellArmstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety

"Through his dedicated work on project EQUIP (Excellence in Quality, Utilization Integration and Patient-centered care), Dr. Howell has played a major role in improving quality and efficiency, reflected in reduced mortality, Maryland Hospital Acquired Conditions (MHACs), Emergency Department boarding of patients, and length of stay."

Bimal Ashar: Excellence in Service and Professionalism

"A true 'doctor's doctor,' Dr. Ashar conducts himself in a truly Oslerian manner, treating every patient as a whole person. Always thorough in his evaluations, he is an excellent diagnostician with a caring attitude and remains unflappable in all conditions."

Robin Avery: Best Consulting Physician

"Dr. Avery’s tireless efforts promote exceptional care for patients who develop infectious complications in transplant medicine and oncology. She is a gifted academic clinician who provides exceptional consultative care in both inpatient and outpatient arenas."


Kelsey Bennett