Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Administration Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Annual Sponsorship Award

Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Annual Sponsorship Award

This award recognizes a Department of Medicine faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting and advancing women faculty and fellows by acting as a sponsor.

A sponsor is a person in a leadership position who actively supports the career advancement of a more junior faculty member or trainee in whom they see career and leadership potential.  Sponsorship activities may include but are not limited to the following: nominating women for awards, editorial boards, meeting/session chairs, high profile institutional and national committees. A sponsor may also play a key role in coaching women for leadership roles. A mentor may act as a sponsor, although not all mentors are in a position to serve as a sponsor. Recent evidence suggests that sponsorship is important for career success, and may be critical to advancing the careers of women and under-represented minorities as well as addressing disparities in leadership positions.

Annual Sponsorship Award Winners:

2015 – Jeanne Clark and Roy Ziegelstein
2016 – Lawrence J. Appel and Trish Perl
2017 – Sonye Danoff and David Levine

The sponsorship award will be presented at the 2018 Women’s Task Force Annual Dinner on Thursday, May 3, 2018.

Please return Task Force on Women's Academic Careers in Medicine Sponsorship Award Nomination Form and supporting documentation to Kim Williams at The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 19, 2018.


Kelsey Bennett