Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations Hill-Briggs Awarded ADA Rachmiel Levine Medal

Hill-Briggs Awarded ADA Rachmiel Levine Medal

*pictured: Felicia Hill-Briggs (R) and Dr. William Cefalu, ADA Chief Scientific, Medical and Mission Officer (L)

Felicia Hill-Briggs, professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, is the 2018 recipient of The Rachmiel Levine Medal in recognition of leadership and service to the American Diabetes Association (ADA). She is current ADA President of Health Care and Education and a Principal Officer of the Board of Directors. She has served in past ADA national leadership roles of Chair, Board Development Committee; Chair, Council on Behavioral Medicine and Psychology; Member, Board of Directors; Member, Research Grant Review Committee; and Member, Research Policy Committee.

Rachmiel Levine, MD (1910 – 1998), named the “father of modern diabetes research” for his discovery of the role of insulin in glucose metabolism, served as President of the International Diabetes Foundation and the American Diabetes Association.


Kelsey Bennett