Each year, the American College of Physicians (ACP) collects nominations for awards and masterships in order to recognize excellence and distinguished contributions to internal medicine. The following members of the DOM were chosen for 2018-2019 and will be honored at the 2019 Internal Medicine Meeting. To see the full list of awardees, visit: https://www.acponline.org/about-acp/awards-masterships-and-competitions/new-masters-and-awardees

Jeanne Clark, professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine

This award recognizes an individual who has furthered the careers of women medical students, residents, and/or physicians through mentoring and leadership development for the career advancement of women.


Cynthia Sears, professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Science as Related to Medicine

This award is bestowed for outstanding work in science as related to medicine which has been nationally or internationally recognized.



Deidra Crews, associate professor in the Division of Nephrology

W Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care

The award is given to an ACP member with outstanding accomplishments in advancing diversity in clinical medicine or research, and/or access to care in relation to diverse populations.


Thomas Finucane, professor emeritus


Mastership is awarded to nominees with integrity, positions of honor, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine. Masters are highly accomplished persons demonstrating eminence in practice, leadership, or in medical research.

Share This Post