Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Annual Sponsorship Award

The Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Annual Sponsorship Award recognizes a Department of Medicine faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting and advancing women faculty and fellows by acting as a sponsor.

A sponsor is a person in a leadership position who actively supports the career advancement of a more junior faculty member or trainee in whom they see career and leadership potential.  Sponsorship activities may include but are not limited to the following: nominating women for awards, editorial boards, meeting/session chairs, high profile institutional and national committees. A sponsor may also play a key role in coaching women for leadership roles. A mentor may act as a sponsor, although not all mentors are in a position to serve as a sponsor.  Recent evidence suggests that sponsorship is important for career success, and may be critical to advancing the careers of women and underrepresented minorities as well as addressing disparities in leadership positions.

Annual Sponsorship Award Winners:
2015 – Jeanne Clark, MD, MPH
2015 – Roy Ziegelstein, MD, MPH
2016 – Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH
2016 – Trish Perl, MD, MSc
2017 – Sonye Danoff, MD, MPH
2017 – David Levine, MD
2018 – Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH
2018 – Robert A. Wise, MD

Sponsorship Award to be presented at the 2019 Women’s Task Force Annual Dinner on Thursday, May 30, 2019.

Deadline for nominations is Monday, April 22, 2019.

For more information please contact Kim Williams at ksimmers@jhmi.edu

Sponsorship Award Nomination Form