Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations Shah Named Associate Division Director for Rheumatology

Shah Named Associate Division Director for Rheumatology

Dr. Ami Shah, associate professor in the Division of Rheumatology, was named the new associate division director for the Division of Rheumatology. She will focus on the academic leadership of the division, and will be increasingly responsible for day-to-day divisional operations and decisions.

Dr. Shah earned her medical degree from Johns Hopkins University before pursuing an internal medicine residency at Stanford University. She then returned to Hopkins to complete a fellowship in rheumatology in 2009. During her fellowship training, she earned her Master of Health Science in Clinical Investigation at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. She has an active research program studying various aspects of scleroderma and Raynaud’s phenomenon. She was the 2020 recipient of the Henry Kunkel Early Career Investigator Award from the American College of Rheumatology (ACR), which honors early career physician scientists who have made outstanding and promising independent contributions to research in the field of rheumatology.

Dr. Shah is co-director of the Johns Hopkins Scleroderma Center and deputy director of the Rheumatology Precision Medicine Centers of Excellence Clinical Programs. Over the past months, she has been increasingly involved in the leadership of the Division of Rheumatology, and was named associate division director effective April 1.

This move sets in motion a leadership transition that will support the division’s stability and preeminence. Dr. Antony Rosen will remain a strategic leader of the division while decreasing the amount of time spent on specific operational tasks in order to focus more of his efforts on guiding the return of the research enterprise from the stresses of COVID-19, and pushing forward the university-wide precision medicine program.

We’d like to thank the division’s leadership team, including Shannon Bishop and Drs. Laura Hummers, Allan Gelber, Bing Bingham, Fred Wigley, Alan Baer, Livia Casciola-Rosen, Lisa Christopher-Stine, Michelle Petri, Phil Seo, Uzma Haque and Felipe Andrade, whose efforts have made this smooth transition possible.


Kelsey Bennett