Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations Rabb Receives Bywaters Award

Rabb Receives Bywaters Award

Dr. Hamid Rabb, professor in the Division of Nephrology, received the 2022 Bywaters Award from the International Society of Nephrology (ISN). This biennial lifetime achievement award recognizes scientific excellence in the field of acute kidney injury (AKI), and is named after Eric Bywaters, who first described crush syndrome in the 1940s.

Nominated by ISN members and selected by the ISN Awards Committee and the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize Advisory Committee, Dr. Rabb was recognized for his outstanding contributions to nephrology and patient care in science, education and humanitarianism. Dr. Hamid Rabb’s pioneering basic science research over the last 30 years has transformed the understanding of the cellular and molecular basis for inflammation as an important mediator of AKI and AKI to chronic kidney disease transition. He was recognized during the World Congress of Nephrology meeting in February.


Kelsey Bennett