Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Miscellaneous Coresh Receives Scribner Award

Coresh Receives Scribner Award

I am delighted to announce that the 2020 recipient of the Belding H. Scribner Lifetime Achievement Award is Josef Coresh, MD, PhD.

The Scribner Award is the highest honor bestowed by the American Society of Nephrology (ASN), and is presented annually to one or more individuals who have made outstanding contributions that have direct impact on the care of patients with renal disorders or have substantially changed the clinical practice of nephrology. Established in 1995, this award honors the physician who developed the arteriovenous shunt that first made long term hemodialysis for chronic renal failure possible.

As an epidemiologist, Dr. Coresh’s outstanding contributions to nephrology build on the legacy started by Drs. Whelton, Klag and Powe in the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research. As director of both the George W. Comstock Center for Public Health Research and Prevention and the Cardiovascular Epidemiology Program and Training Grant, Dr. Coresh’s greatest contributions to kidney disease include his epidemiologic studies in support of clinical practice guidelines for chronic kidney disease (CKD) definition and classification, leading in 2009 to his founding of the Chronic Kidney Disease Prognosis Consortium (CKD-PC). He has published more than 800 original investigations, reviews and guidelines, which have been cited more than 190,000 times, making him one of the most influential kidney disease investigators of our time.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Coresh for receiving this very well deserved award!

Thank you, Joe, for your hard work and commitment to nephrology research and improving the lives of patients with kidney disease. We look forward to your continued contributions and collaborations and celebrating this honor with you!

-Chirag Parikh, Director of the Division of Nephrology


Kelsey Bennett