Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations Institute for Excellence in Education Conference and Celebration

Institute for Excellence in Education Conference and Celebration

The Institute for Excellence in Education held its annual Education Conference and Celebration on Friday, March 24 in order to bring together educators from across the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, Public Health to share ideas, educational research, innovations and instructional methodologies and to honor worthy educators in all three schools. Below are the award winners from the Department of Medicine.

Leadership and Mentoring Award

Drs. Cynthia Boyd and Danelle Cayea

Dr. Cynthia Boyd, professor and director in the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in mentoring--defined as the process of guiding, supporting, and promoting the training and career development of others. Dr. Boyd was honored for her dedication to mentoring, success of her mentees and ability to mentor people across a wide variety of disciplines.

Teaching Awards

These awards are intended to recognize outstanding achievement in teaching, which the IEE defines as direct contact time with learners in a large group, small group or one-on-one, whether in the classroom, lab or clinical setting.

Less than Ten Years on Faculty

Dr. Souvik Chatterjee, assistant professor in the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine and director of the JHBMC Intensive Care Unit

Part-Time Faculty

Dr. Mattan Schuchman (left)

Dr. Mattan Schuchman, assistant professor in the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology

Educational Program Award

Dr. Panagis Galiatsatos, associate professor in the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, and JHU HEAT core

This award recognizes a noteworthy medical or biomedical teaching program implemented within five years or less that addresses a gap in the field and includes specific and measurable learner objectives, uses innovative educational strategies, includes data on learner outcomes, uses program evaluation data to drive curricular changes, has evidence of scholarship and has a likelihood of sustainability.

Educational Scholarship Award

Drs. Janet Record and Renee Blanding

Dr. Janet Record, assistant professor in the Division of Hospital Medicine at JHBMC and assistant dean for undergraduate medical education

The Educational Scholarship Award is designed primarily for the faculty member who has a corpus of educational scholarship work. This includes not only publications, but also workshops, other dissemination and contributions to other institutions.

Martin D. Abeloff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education

Drs. Scott Wright and Joseph Cofrancesco

Dr. Scott Wrightprofessor and director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at JHBMC

The highest of the IEE's honors is named for Dr. Martin D. Abeloff who was known as a visionary leader, superb physician and educator and world class scholar. Dr. Wright was recognized by the IEE Board of Directors for having demonstrated commitment to and extensive achievement in medical and biomedical education.

Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education

Drs. Tina Zheng and Rachel Levine

Dr. Christiana Zhang, assistant professor in the Division of GIM and co-director of the Medical Education Pathway

The Heiser award is given to a junior faculty member, in their career 5 years or less on faculty, who has made an outstanding contribution in medical/biomedical education, and shown great promise for future meaningful contributions to medical and biomedical education. 



Kelsey Bennett

1 thought on “Institute for Excellence in Education Conference and Celebration”

  1. Pingback: 2023 SOM Convocation Awards | Medicine Matters

Comments are closed.