Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Congratulations 2023 SOM Convocation Awards

2023 SOM Convocation Awards

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Class of 2023 Convocation took place on Wednesday, May 24. Listed below are award winners from the DOM honored at the event.

Professors' Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Professors' Award for Excellence in Teaching was established in 1981 by the Advisory Board of the Medical Faculty and is intended to honor each year members of the faculty whose teaching is judged to have had a profound effect on students in the School of Medicine. Awarded to Dr. Justin Bailey, associate professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases.


W. Barry Wood, Jr. Award

The W. Barry Wood, Jr. Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to the teachers voted by the students in the preclinical years to have been most inspirational and/or effective. Awarded to Dr. Khalil Ghanem, professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases.


Graduate Student Teaching Award

The Graduate Student Teaching Award, established in 1986 by the Graduate Student Association, recognizes excellence in teaching and mentoring at the graduate level in the biomedical sciences. Awarded to Dr. David Valle, professor of genetic medicine.


Department of Medicine Student Awards

Every year, the Department of Medicine recognizes outstanding medical students with the following awards at the School of Medicine Convocation Ceremony. Please join us in congratulating this year's award recipients.

Justine Enns received the Sol Goldman Award, given annually to a Hopkins medical student who is recognized by the faculty of the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology for excellence in geriatrics and exceptional sensitivity to older patients. This award is made possible by an endowment given by the family of Sol Goldman to perpetuate an interest in and commitment to geriatric medicine and gerontology among medical students. Justine was recognized for her MSTAR project about decision making for screening cessation in older adults that has positively impacted the filed.

Andrew Zale was selected to receive the 2023 Warfield T. Longcope Prize in Clinical Medicine. The award established in honor of Dr.Longcope, director of the Department of Medicine from 1922 to 1946, recognizes a graduating student entering the field of medicine whose performance in clinical medicine exemplifies in outstanding fashion the academic excellence and the human qualities that mark the true physician. The committee was impressed by his research in using artificial intelligence algorithms to improve patient care.

The winners of the 2023 Teaching Awards from the Institute for Excellence in Education and the Young Investigator Day awards were also recognized.

View the full program here.


Kelsey Bennett