Skip to content

Medicine Matters

Sharing successes, challenges and daily happenings in the Department of Medicine

Medicine Matters Home Leadership DOM Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Susan M. MacDonald MD, Sponsorship Award

DOM Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine Susan M. MacDonald MD, Sponsorship Award

This award recognizes a Department of Medicine faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting and advancing women faculty and fellows by acting as a sponsor.

A sponsor is a person in a leadership position who actively supports the career advancement of a more junior faculty member or trainee in whom they see career and leadership potential. Sponsorship activities may include but are not limited to the following: nominating women for awards, editorial boards, meeting/session chairs, high profile institutional and national committees. A sponsor may also play a key role in coaching women for leadership roles. A mentor may act as a sponsor, although not all mentors are in a position to serve as a sponsor. Recent evidence suggests that sponsorship is important for career success, and may be critical to advancing the careers of women and under-represented minorities as well as addressing disparities in leadership positions.

This award honors Dr. Susan M. MacDonald who passed away in September 2020. Dr. MacDonald was a pioneer, fearlessly advocating for women both within the department and the school. In 1989, she was a founding member of the Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine and its chair from 1995-1997. In 2004, she was the 106th woman to become a Johns Hopkins professor, and mentored many of the women who came after her.

Annual Sponsorship Award Winners:

2015 – Jeanne Clark, MD, MPH
2015 – Roy Ziegelstein, MD, MPH
2016 – Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH
2016 – Trish Perl, MD, MSc
2017 – Sonye Danoff, MD, MPH
2017 – David Levine, MD
2018 – Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH
2018 – Robert A. Wise, MD
2019 – Josef Coresh MD, PhD
2019 – Nadia Hansel MD, MPH
2022 – Rachel Levine, MD, MPH
2022 – Daniel Ford, MD, MPH
2022 – Sara Cosgrove, MD
2022 – Roger Blumenthal, MD
2022 – Mark Anderson, MD, PhD

Sponsorship Award to be presented at the 2024 Women’s Task Force Annual Dinner on Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Deadline for nominations is April 26, 2024

Click here for the Nomination Form

Please return Nomination Form and supporting documentation to:


Kelsey Bennett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.